Commonplace

Foreword by Andrew Motion
 Taschenbuch
Besorgungstitel  |
 Lieferzeit: 3-5 Tage  
13,80 €

Alle Preise inkl. MwSt.
| zzgl. Versand
 
The only edition in print of a delightful novella of love, matrimony and sisterhood, firmly in the tradition of Jane Austen, 'Commonplace' displays the imaginative flair and linguistic prowess that mark Rossetti's best-loved verse
This is a delightful novella of love, matrimony, and sisterhood firmly in the tradition of Jane Austen, and displaying all the imaginative flair and linguistic prowess that distinguish Christina Rossetti's best-loved verse. When William Charlmont is lost at sea, his devoted wife lies dying in childbirth and charges Catherine, their eldest daughter, to await his return. Years later, and now in her thirties, Catherine remains faithful to her promise, resigning herself to a life of spinsterhood. Her two sisters, however, are under no such obligation, and while Lucy loves and loses from afar, the carefree Jane resolves to make a prosperous marriage and become a lady of fortune. "Commonplace" is a charmingly witty tale of the tortuous path a girl must take to secure a suitable match. One of the most important of the Victorian women poets, and a member of the Pre-Raphaelite movement, Christina Rossetti is best known as the author of "Goblin Market and Other Poems."
Autor: Christina Rossetti
Christina Rossetti (1830-1904) is best remembered as the author of sonnets, ballads and religious poetry. Andrew Motion has been Professor of Creative Writing at UEA since 1995; since 1999 he has also been Poet Laureate.

Zu diesem Artikel ist noch keine Rezension vorhanden.
Helfen sie anderen Besuchern und verfassen Sie selbst eine Rezension.

 

Rezensionen

Autor: Christina Rossetti
ISBN-13 :: 9781843911197
ISBN: 1843911191
Verlag: Hesperus Press
Gewicht: 160g
Seiten: 116
Sprache: Englisch
Sonstiges: Taschenbuch, 21 cm
Google Plus
Powered by Inooga