The Saturday Girls

 Taschenbuch
Sofort lieferbar  |
 Lieferzeit: 3-5 Tage  
13,06 €

Alle Preise inkl. MwSt.
| zzgl. Versand
 
Step straight into 1964 England: the fashion, the music and the culture immerses the reader as Linda begins to make the personal choices that led to a cultural revolution.
'A book to read in great gulps' Sheila Newberry

'Beautifully written . . . she has a real talent' Mary Gibson

Perfect for fans of Daisy Styles and Rosie Clarke. If you loved An Education , Good Girls Revolt and Made in Dagenham then this is for you.

It's 1964. England has shaken off its post-war gloom and the world is full of possibilities.

Best friends Sandra and Linda live on a housing estate in Essex. They are aspiring mods: they have the music, the coffee bar and Ready Steady Go! on a Friday night.

Having landed their first jobs, Linda and Sandra look set. But the world is changing rapidly, and both girls have difficult choices to make. As Sandra blindly pursues a proposal, Linda finds herself drawn to causes she knows are worth fighting for.

But when Sandra's quest leads her to local bad boy Danny, she lands both her and Linda in more trouble than they bargained for . . .
Autor: Elizabeth Woodcraft
Elizabeth Woodcraft grew up on a working class housing estate in Essex. She was a mod and worked in the local milk bar. After attending Birmingham University she taught English in Leicestershire and the Loire Valley. Then she worked for the National Women's Aid Federation in London and subsequently read for the Bar. During her time at the Bar, she represented Greenham Common Peace Protesters, Anti-Apartheid demonstrators, striking miners and Clause 28 activists. Now she is a full time writer.
Her most recent books are set in the Sixties - mods and rockers, the music of Motown, milk bars and ban-the-bomb marches. With memories of the war and the effects of rationing still being felt, young people are just starting to taste the freedom a little money can bring.

Zu diesem Artikel ist noch keine Rezension vorhanden.
Helfen sie anderen Besuchern und verfassen Sie selbst eine Rezension.

 

Rezensionen

Autor: Elizabeth Woodcraft
ISBN-13 :: 9781785764424
ISBN: 178576442X
Verlag: Bonnier Zaffre UK, Zaffre
Gewicht: 352g
Seiten: 480
Sprache: Englisch
Sonstiges: Taschenbuch, 197x132x27 mm
Google Plus
Powered by Inooga