Running Out of Night

 Buch
Besorgungstitel | Lieferzeit:3-5 Tage I
ISBN-13:
9780385744096
Einband:
Buch
Erscheinungsdatum:
11.11.2014
Seiten:
304
Autor:
Sharon Lovejoy
Gewicht:
427 g
Format:
218x144x32 mm
Sprache:
Englisch
Beschreibung:

A Children's Book Review Seven Middle Grade Books for African American History Month Pick Fans of Elijah of Buxton, Trouble Don't Last, and Stealing Freedom will be drawn to this tale of the incredible journey of an abused twelve-year-old white girl and an escaped slave girl who run away together and form a bond of friendship while seeking freedom. Every day is a misery for a nameless, motherless Southern girl who is treated cruelly by her pa and brothers. Her life changes forever when a runaway slave named Zenobia turns to her for help and shelter. Longing for her own freedom, the girl decides to run away, and she and Zenobia set off on a harrowing journey. Along the way, Zenobia names the girl Lark, after the bird, for her ability to mimic its song. Running by night, hiding by day, the girls are pursued by Lark's pa and brothers and by ruthless slave catchers. Brightwell, another runaway slave, joins them, and the three follow secret signs to a stop on the Underground Railroad. When the hideout is raided and Zenobia and Brightwell are captured, Lark sets out alone to rescue her friends.A CBC Notable Social Studies Trade Book of the YearAn International Reading Association Best Chapter Book of the YearA Vermont Dorothy Canfield Fisher Children's Book Award Master List Selection A Great Stone Face Book Award NomineeA New Mexico's Land of Enchantment Book Award SelectionA Pennsylvania Young Reader's Choice Awards Selection"Lush, detailed, total-immersion storytelling."--Kirkus Reviews"Distinguished by lively descriptions and dialogue."--Publisher's Weekly"A gripping historical novel . . . heart-stopping, heart-racing and eventually heart-easing.--Library Voice"Powerful debut novel."--International Reading Association"An essential read for those interested in American history."--San Louis Obispo Tribune"A gritty, engrossing tale.--Slo Coast Journal

Kunden Rezensionen

Zu diesem Artikel ist noch keine Rezension vorhanden.
Helfen sie anderen Besuchern und verfassen Sie selbst eine Rezension.

Google Plus
Powered by Inooga